Ondo State News

Mimiko swears in elected Local Government Chairmen

The executive governor of Ondo State, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko, sworn in the newly elected Local Government Chairmen of the 18 Local Government Areas yesterday in Akure at the International Event Centre, The Dome. The event witnessed massive turnout as family members, friends and supporters of the Local Government Chairmen were at the event centre to grace the occasion.


The swearing in ceremony marks the return of democratically elected officers to paddle the affairs of the lowest tier of government, which has seen 4 sets of caretaker chairmen at d helm since the inception of the Mimiko led administration due to the litigation instituted against the Labour Party by Peoples Democratic Party.

The Governor while speaking at the event noted that the grassroots antecedents of the elected chairmen will be of benefits to the electorates, the governor also added that it was a bit surprising that those who criticised the present administration for not conducting Local Government elections in the state are the ones seeking court injunction to stop the conduct of the April 23 election. He urged the newly elected chairmen to drive the dividends of democracy to every nook and cranny of their LGAs.

Check the names of the sworn in Chairmen and their Local Government Area:

Hon. Arowolo Oluwole – Akoko North East

Hon. Alademehin Olusola – Akoko North West

Hon. Agunloye Babalola – Akoko South East

Hon. Abiodun Ogunbi -Akoko South West

Hon. Babalola Bamidele Akure North

Hon. Adebayo Alarapon  Akure South

Hon. Festus Akingbaso Idanre

Hon. Sola Adu Ifedore

Hon. Omomowo Agboola Ilaje

Hon. Julius Elumaro Irele

Hon. Gbemigbade Folagbade Ile-Oluji

Hon. Akinkuole Gafaru – Ondo East

Hon. Ogunya Victor – Ondo West

Hon.  Folahinmi Oluwole – Owo

Hon. Osuma Ojo Awodeyi – Ose

Hon. Larry Ogunmusire – Okitipupa

Hon. Sobijoh Timiminiwei – Ese Ondo

Hon. Ademulegun Rapheal – Odigbo

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top